4 barrel intakes

Engine, ignition, fuel, cooling, exhaust

Moderators: Ranchero50, DuckRyder

ponyexpress

4 barrel intakes

Post by ponyexpress »

Hi guys,

I am pretty new with the FE's. I have been playing with the small blocks. Can someone explain the pros and cons of
an Edelbrock Performer 390 FE Aluminum intake versus a Edelbrock Street master 390 Aluminum intake versus a iron S-code 390 intake. I am thinking that I want to put a 4 barrel on my 360. What would be the best choice? and why? Thanks :fr:
hotrodfeguy
Blue Oval Fan
Blue Oval Fan

Re: 4 barrel intakes

Post by hotrodfeguy »

I will list them as PERFORMACE goes
1) S-code is pretty much bottom of the barrel but would work good on a stock to warm 360/390

2) edelbrock performer 390 is a good street intake woeks well to about 5K and is a mild intake for 390's mild to wild 360's

3) Edelbrock RPM is the best versitile intake out there for larger 390 up and to about 500HP just don't mix it up with the std performer is why I mention it.

4) the ED steet master and Holley strip dominator is a low profile single plane that works great. Is very close to the Edelbrock RPM and is a great intake even though most look at it and think single plane and think no torque can be made with it. But it will fool those people very quick, it works! also a HP maker to about 500
1972 F-250 4X4 390
1999 F-350 7.3 PS 4X4
1996 Ford ranger 3.0
Corkwheats

Post by Corkwheats »

Hi Guys,

I appreciate the info. I am in the same boat. I'm upgrading my 360 in my 71 Ranger XLT to a 4 Barrel. For me, it's somewhat of a no brainer, on one level. I definitely am interested in "low end", torque, and power. I'm wanting my truck to be a strong "pulling" truck, and not a racing vehicle. So, after much looking, I'm pretty much sold on the idea of an Edelbrock Performer w/Holley 600 CFM. That's all I need for this puppy.