AM radio wiring help

Charging, starting, lighting, gauges, HVAC

Moderators: FORDification, Thunderfoot

couchcuts

AM radio wiring help

Post by couchcuts »

Hi,

I am totally new to auto wiring so excuse my basic questions

I have a 1970 F100 that I believe never had a radio in it, aftermarket or original.

I now have a 1968 AM radio and dash speaker I would like to install. ( thanks Mancar1 )

The question is ... How do I wire power to the am radio?
I do not see the other half of the in-line fuse.

I also do not see any extra wires coming out of the ignition area.

Do I need to buy wire and an in-line fuse?

What kind of wire?

Thanks
Last edited by couchcuts on Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:57 pm, edited 4 times in total.
http://www.fordification.com/forum/view ... 22&t=64227

1970 F100 Custom Wimbleton White 240 c6 shortbed
70 ranger
Preferred User
Preferred User

Re: AM radio wiring help

Post by 70 ranger »

You need a wire that has a fuse in it. This is so that if it shorts out accidentally, the fuse will blow instead of your wiring heating up and possibly starting a fire! The wire coming out of the radio has half of this already. The other half pushes in then twists to lock in place. (there is also a spring that goes in). And of course...the fuse! You should be able to walk into any stereo shop and buy this whole set up. If you can't get the other half of this, just cut the wire and install a new fuse container. This needs to be attached to a wire that is already in your truck that is only powered up when the ignition is on. for this a test light might help. They are super cheap and very handy. You just attach it to any wire and see if the light comes on. You should be able to look at the wiring diagrams on the site to find out what color the radio wire should be. Just look around under your dash for that wire. If you can't find that try hooking into another line that is only powered when the ignition is on.