Starting a truck that has been parked for 9 months...

Engine, ignition, fuel, cooling, exhaust

Moderators: Ranchero50, DuckRyder

MikeS29

Starting a truck that has been parked for 9 months...

Post by MikeS29 »

I have a couple questions about a truck that has been parked for 9 months. It was running when parked.

Assuming it won't start, and I buy it anyway and tow it home:

What are the minimum steps you would take to get it up and running? Would you replace all gas, all plugs, all plug wires, fuel filter(s), what else? Cap and rotor? Would you flush the cooling system?

If you were starting and running a vehicle that had been sitting, what else would you do post-haste?

Thanks guys, newbie here! :D
fordman
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Re: Starting a truck that has been parked for 9 months...

Post by fordman »

battery gas and a key. then i fit doesnt start i begin checking to see why it wont start.i mean you can change the oil and so forth if yo uknwo the motor is suppose to be good. but on a unknown motor. battery gas and key. why waste money on soemthign that may be in need a work or a rebuild?
MikeS29

Post by MikeS29 »

OK, sounds like a good place to start, thanks.
hazelnut
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Post by hazelnut »

Before you try to start it i would pull the coil wire and sparkplugs and check the oil. If oil is full turn over the engine like your trying to start it for 10-15 seconds, This will help getting oil pumped through the motor. If the plugs look ok stick them back in or if they look bad get a new set. Gas with ethonal goes bad fast, when the motor starts and sounds rough and dont clear up. get some new gas and go from their.
TimTeresa

Post by TimTeresa »

I like to pull the plugs and give a dose of WD-40. I have also set them up on #1, pulled the dist and primed the oil pump but I have adaptors for my drill to do that with.
1982 flareside
Blue Oval Fan
Blue Oval Fan

Post by 1982 flareside »