horn

Charging, starting, lighting, gauges, HVAC

Moderators: FORDification, Thunderfoot

1970f100x

horn

Post by 1970f100x »

I have a horn in my truck, but I don't know how to operate it, I think it is that half circle plate over the steering wheel? If it is, it doesn't work. Do any of you know how I can get that working?

P.S. I'm only 16, so I'm not too experienced with older vehicles.
fordman
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Re: horn

Post by fordman »

under that ring is a brass or copper contact that will contact ground when the ring is pressed. inside the column is the horn wiring, it goes down and out to the horn relay and from there to the horn. the first thing to do is to check if the horn is good itself. run a hot wire directly to the horn. and see if it works. the second thing i would check is to find out if the horn copper is inside the steering column.just puch down and twist the horn ring to get it off. if it is there and the horn works hot wire then you are looking at a possible wiirng problem. have the wires at the bottom of the column been cut and put back together or not put back together? that is a common place for the wiring to go bad. also check the fuses. check all of that and let us know what you find out.
1970f100x

Post by 1970f100x »