C6 Extension Housing U joint Driveshaft long and short

Clutch, transmission, rear axle

Moderators: FORDification, 70_F100

brockwkp85

C6 Extension Housing U joint Driveshaft long and short

Post by brockwkp85 »

First off, I'm new to this stuff. Been using youtube, online, and shop manuals as I go along and a lot of terminology I am not aware of and I feel like I need a dictionary with pictures for this stuff.

That said, I have 1972 Ford f100 360 that I've been rebuilding. The transmission went out and I decided to replace it myself. It's a C6 and I found a rebuilt one in town for pretty cheap along with a stock torque convertor from autozone. The guy said it came off a automatic 2wd 360fe which is what I have

I removed the existing c6 transmission from the truck (it says D2TP 7006 AA) but knew nothing about measuring the housing and that c6's have different housing extensions. The one that was in the truck has a shorter housing and a connected u joint yoke that attaches to the driveshaft. It's a long bed truck. The rebuilt one does not have the same housing but the front case and measurements all add up.

Can I remove the short housing and switch it on to the new one? Or is the output / input shaft not compatible in that I would completely redo the new one for the short housing?

from the truck
IMG_1267-1.JPG
IMG_1268-1.JPG
rebuilt
IMG_1270-1.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
sargentrs
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

Re: C6 Extension Housing U joint Driveshaft long and short

Post by sargentrs »

I don't know the details but from what I've just read on the web, it sounds like a pretty involved process including complete tear down of the entire transmission. Since you said you have a long bed, I'm assuming you have the 2 pc drive shaft. If it was me, I'd just have a front driveshaft made with the matching yokes. Any driveline shop should be able to do that for a couple hundred.
Randy