69 F 250 C/S Rebuilt 390 has spark no fire/ wont start...

Engine, ignition, fuel, cooling, exhaust

Moderators: Ranchero50, DuckRyder

SoCal250

69 F 250 C/S Rebuilt 390 has spark no fire/ wont start...

Post by SoCal250 »

Hi all I have been working on my 69 F 250 C/S for about six months now I bought it form a guy and it broke down on me right after so i did not get to drive it more than 20 miles since i had it Mar 2016 , it sat for about a year then i started wrenching on it . I tried for the first time to start it and no Go
I thought there was no spark at first so i tested the coil for hot at the positive with volt meter key in run its at 6 volts in start mode its almost 12V but a little under the IGN on the relay reads same , i learned through threads this is a resitance wire lead i seen them joined at the ign pigtail under the dash and it goes to the thin red wire to coil positve the Big ? is what is a good reading on the negative side of the coil i get less than a volt in key on mode and almost 1V at start up ???? I know it has spark i took the cap off and cranked the motor and the points were sparking , also in one test i asked my son to hold the spark plug next to the block and at cranking he got shocked !!!!!! and dropped the plug wire lol :nono: . I might had cranked the motor a little more than i should had for a flat tappet break in but i primed the oil pump and using comp cam breakin oil only 5-6 seconds at a time .

I also put distributor in at TDC on number 1 turning the dist all the way to left and right it dont even bite no back fire no nothin ? I am guessing a weak spark I did cut and splice the red wire right after the fire wall to the positive coil it kept breaking on me due to age and wear but did not touch the pink wire side of the resistor wire I am a little stuck on why it did not even backfire ? primed float bowl gas coming into cylinders any help would be great ,Thanks .....
colnago
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!