'70 F100 Oil Pan Removal tips???

Engine, ignition, fuel, cooling, exhaust

Moderators: Ranchero50, DuckRyder

jgf100

'70 F100 Oil Pan Removal tips???

Post by jgf100 »

Hi there, I have a motor oil leak and I figured I drop the oil pan on my 70 F100 5.0 302 cc engine. Well, I removed all the oil pan bolts but then realized that there was no way it was coming out.
Any ideas how I can remove oil pan without pulling engine. This is my first time working on a "budget build" and I really cant afford a hoist and stand.

Thanks.
'70 F100, 302 C4
Twisted_Steel

Re: '70 F100 Oil Pan Removal tips???

Post by Twisted_Steel »

Where was the leak originating from? Front or back?
You can take the engine mounts loose and jack up the engine somewhat, but not sure about enough clearance to remove the pan without taking the pickup tube out in order to slide the pan out. Make sure to remove the dipstick before taking the pan out... one less thing to get caught on.
Is it an automatic or manual? If manual, is it a 3 on the tree? Those make it trickier than either an automatic or top loader 4 speed
You can lose fingers or a hand if the engine was to fall... so if you can get help, that'd be better. **Understand, this is not the safest way, but doable**

The surest and safest way to go, rent/borrow a hoist.
Twisted_Steel

Post by Twisted_Steel »

Where are you located? We've got members coast to coast
jgf100

Post by jgf100 »

Thanks for the info Twisted_Steel. Transmission is a C4 automatic. As far as the leak, I couldn't identify the area where it was coming from. I assumed it was the rear main, but after unbolting the bolts on pan, the gasket was in terrible shape. I will attempt to lift the engine enough to get the pan off, if not I will have to go the route of getting a hoist somehow.
I more question. Do I need to unbolt transmission to get the engine lifted with a jack?
I live in the Greenville, SC area.
Thanks again.
'70 F100, 302 C4
Montana71-F100
Preferred User
Preferred User