Worn exhaust ports

Engine, ignition, fuel, cooling, exhaust

Moderators: Ranchero50, DuckRyder

Cowboysculptor

Worn exhaust ports

Post by Cowboysculptor »

Hey guys,

I'm new to involved engine work, although I've rebuilt several motorcycle engines. I knew my fe 360 had exhaust leaks, and pulling off the headers and seeing all the black creeping out the gaskets confirmed it.

I got new gaskets and prepared to install them, so i started cleaning up the surfaces around the exhaust ports on the heads. That's when I discovered how worn those surfaces are. I can't tell the cause, but it looks like chronic exhaust leaks may have slowly blasted away the material. I haven't measured, but it looks like the surfaces are worn down 1/64 to 1/32 of an inch.

So my question is, (fearing I know the answer,) can the heads be resurfaced and used, or do I need to start hunting for replacements? Feel free to tell me that I can just squish a little JB Weld in there and all is good, but I'm not kidding myself.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Cowboysculptor on Tue Mar 27, 2018 6:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Manny
Blue Oval Guru
Blue Oval Guru

Re: Worn exhaust ports

Post by Manny »

Welcome to the forum, and that no fair that your headers actually came off without all the bolts breaking. Your surfaces are not too bad. Yes the wear is from years of wear and leaking. From Ford Fe's and many other showed up to the dealer with no such thing as exhaust manifold gaskets. Cast iron on cast iron. The years of heat cycles do them in. As for yours high temp silione, walker muffler sealant that black tar stuff. The best proper way have the heads shaved up clean, and go again. All how involved you want to get. Welcome to the greatest old ford truck site there is. :thup:
Just another Ford fool named Dan.
The Junk that hangs around
67' F-250 highboy Camper special cross breed currently under way