Meet Clyde.

Post progress reports on your project truck(s)

Moderator: FORDification

dftuttle

Meet Clyde.

Post by dftuttle »

OK, so I've never done a build thread on anything before, so here goes.
Like I said in my Welcome Mat post, I "rescued" a '69 F250 off of Craigslist for $1000, mostly because I was bored & driving the wife crazy. I "NEED" a project car.
So I've had it a couple of weeks & so far I have gone thru the column shifter.
I looked like this when I pulled the column out.
The turn signal switch harness had been hacked into 3 pieces & the shifter had been assembled wrong. One of the ears on the top of the column had been broken off too.
This truck had a hard life!
Good thing my brother welds for a living. All I have to do is drop off a part to him, explain what I want & he drops it off on his way home from work.
So I got replacement shifter arms & bushings & reassembled the column.
Next came a test fitting & now I see why the shifter was hooked up backwards when I bought the truck; the 2-3 shift arm hits the fire wall. So I take off the steering wheel & take a measurement from the end of the steering shaft to the collet that centers the shaft in the top bearing. Then I loosened the set screws on the collar on the bottom of the steering shaft so I could slide the column all the way down. That got me an extra inch to play with, so take the column & steering shaft back out & have the shaft shortened the required inch.
So the steering column is clamped in place temporarily. I need to drill a couple of holes in the bracket on the bottom of the dash.
And now the shifter clears the firewall.
Now that i think I killed all of the spiders using Clyde for a home, I think I can crawl underneath & fit the shift linkage.

I would like to thank the owner & moderators of this site right now. In the couple of weeks since I joined, I have found a ton of info pertaining to this project. :fr:
If common sense was really common, wouldn't everybody be using it?
tsherry