$50 paint job on the highboy

Post progress reports on your project truck(s)

Moderator: FORDification

hazelnut
100% FORDified!
100% FORDified!

$50 paint job on the highboy

Post by hazelnut »

I bought a 69 highboy about 5 years ago that didnt run and was full of rust for $500 from a friend of mine. It spent its life as a farm truck in Smithfield, VA and only has 56,000 miles on it. Didnt do anything with the truck for 3 years because i was getting parts together because every part of the body was rusted to bad to reuse. Ive been working on the truck on and off for 2 years. And think its time to see some paint on it :thup: Ive been sand blasting and epoxy primeing parts as i get them for the past 2 years and now its time for the paint. Only one problem, I dont have $1200 to spare on paint so im going to paint my truck with caterpiller high gloss white everywhere and leave the upper part in epoxy primer and use car paint when the rest of the truck is painted. Heres a few pictures to show what im working with.
I still have the body that came of the truck, Ill try to get some picks of it to post this week.
Last edited by hazelnut on Mon Apr 28, 2014 9:07 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Ranchero50

Re: $50 paint job on the highboy

Post by Ranchero50 »

I don't know, I have mixed feeling about the $50 paintjob. I did my '71 F250 two years ago (I think) using rustoleum rolled on and it's looking pretty rough. All the shine is gone fromt he paint and there is some rust discoloration coming through in places like the cowl opening. Of course the basecoat clearcoat only lasta about 6 years before pealing too.

It's so much dang work to get them fixed up that it sucks when the paint gives up too soon...

Jamie
'70 F-350 CS Cummins 6BT 10klb truck 64k mile Bahama Blue

Contact me for CNC Dome Lamp Bezels and Ash Tray pulls.
Ranchero50

Post by Ranchero50 »