Thoughts on this 69 F100 Ranger. Newbie Here.

No tech discussion, please

Moderator: FORDification

Studio8jared

Thoughts on this 69 F100 Ranger. Newbie Here.

Post by Studio8jared »

Hi all,

I've recentley been bitten by the Ford Ranger bug and am on the hunt for one to call me own. I came across this California owned 69 F100 Ranger recently and went to check it out today. As a total newbie on most of this and no past experience buying/owning a classic truck I'm hoping to get some advice/guidance from you all. Owner is asking $8500, but says he's negotiable.

Here's what I know about the truck....
- Current owner has owned it for 2 years. He bought it from a local guy who may or may not have been the original owner. I'm guessing he was not as the VIN suggests it was sold to a dealership in Denver back in 69.
- Odometer reads 9,760. The seller is unclear how many times its rollover. I checked the titles for the odometer reading from when he purchased it 2 years ago, but the titles doesn't list the odometer.
- It has a 360 engine 2 barrel carburetor V8, but I'm not sure what that truly means as again I'm a bit of a newbie here :)
- Has power steering.
- Has front and rear drum brakes.
- He thinks it has original paint, which I could believe, however the hood paint is slightly different in sheen than the rest of the body. It's very subtle, but as if the hood is a replacement or possibly re-painted at some point.

Below is a link to a bunch of photos I took today. Curious about the condition of the underneath. Has some rust, but doesn't look serious to me. Would love some opinions from some of you more knowledgable guys about this. I've also called out a few things in the photos that I'm not are issues I should be worried about or not.
1.jpeg
6.jpg
12.jpg
VIEW MORE PHOTOS HERE: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/b4ar9swt8rvx ... g1Cfa?dl=0