Did I Get Screwed?

No tech discussion, please

Moderator: FORDification

Cal2121

Did I Get Screwed?

Post by Cal2121 »

Long story short, I needed new bearings, races, seals, etc. on my 68 CS F250. The parts list and prices is below. I looked up the parts numbers (and confirmed brands with the guy) on RockAuto, etc. and it looks like the guy fuc*#! me. I called him on it, and he said the following: (1) he has to mark up his parts prices and not just charge labor; and (2) the prices I'm seeing for the SAME part numbers and BRANDS are inferior versions. I think he's full of sh*!, but I'm not a mechanic and haven't had a ton of experience with them. FYI, the total price was about $935 ($475 labor and rest parts). Any thoughts are appreciated. I'd like to confirm my anger or understand that it's misplaced.

2 seals (PN 472856; National brand) for 81.32; RockAuto has them for $1.50 a piece
2 rear wheel bearings (PN 18790; Timken brand) for 81.32; RockAuto has them for $9.60 a piece
2 bearing races (PN 18720; Timken brand) for 40.64; RockAuto has them for $5.70 a piece
2 bearing races (PN 25520; Timken brand) for 33.86; RockAuto has them for $4.70 a piece.
2 rear wheel bearings (PN 25592; Timken brand) for 128.24; RockAuto has them for $16.70 a piece.

I get that RockAuto may be low, but this guys is up charging like crazy.
Ohiotinkerer
Blue Oval Fanatic
Blue Oval Fanatic

Re: Did I Get Screwed?

Post by Ohiotinkerer »