Air compressor size for sandblasting

Discuss your workshop and related equipment

Moderator: FORDification

spartman
Blue Oval Guru
Blue Oval Guru

Air compressor size for sandblasting

Post by spartman »

I am wondering what would be considered a good sized air compressor to use with a sandblaster?

I have a smaller sized unit with a 3 hp motor and dual pistons, but the tank is only about 5-10 gallons?

I don't think it would be enough to run a sandblaster but I could be wrong.

I have never had a blaster so I don't know what they take for air.

Thanks all for the answers.

BTW: If you haven't noticed I am a newbie here so be kind please.
FORDification
Site & Forum Admin
Site & Forum Admin

re: Air compressor size for sandblasting

Post by FORDification »

We'll take it easy on you....for a little while, at least! ;)

One of my favorite quotes, and one I TRY to live by, says:
"It's better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it".
This is especially applicable with air compressor selection. Always buy more compressor than you think you'll need, because if you have it, you WILL use it.